On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 100.7 FM Terre Haute, IN


Current Conditions(Terre Haute,IN 47807)

More Weather »
45° Feels Like: 45°
Wind: NNW 3 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


PM Thunderstorms 74°


Showers Early 50°


Partly Cloudy 69°


Former Indiana Senator Lugar To Receive Presidential Freedom Award

Former Indiana Senator Dick Lugar will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom at a ceremony later this year.

Lugar will join 15 other honorees, including former President Bill Clinton and Oprah Winfree, in receiving the honor.

The White House said Lugar will be honored for his efforts to reduce the global nuclear threat.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom was established in 1963 by then President John F. Kennedy. It is, along with the Congressional Gold Medal, the highest civilian award in the United States.

Lugar was the longest-serving senator in Indiana history, representing the state from 1977-2013.

Others who will join Lugar in receiving the medal include:

 --Daniel Inouye, former senator from Hawaii, World War II veteran and the first Japanese American in Congress. Inouye will receive the award posthumously.

 --Ben Bradlee, former executive editor of the Washington Post who oversaw the newspaper's coverage of Watergate.

 --Sally Ride, the first American woman to fly in space. Ride will receive the award posthumously.

 --Gloria Steinem, writer and prominent women's rights activist.

 --Ernie Banks, baseball player who hit more than 500 home runs and played 19 seasons with the Chicago Cubs.

 --Bayard Rustin, civil and gay rights activist and adviser to Martin Luther King Jr. Rustin will receive the award posthumously.

 --Daniel Kahneman, psychologist who won the Nobel Prize in Economics.

 --Loretta Lynn, country music singer.

 --Maria Molina, chemist and environmental scientist who won the Nobel Prize in chemistry.

 --Arturo Sandoval, Grammy-winning jazz musician who was born in Cuba and defected to the U.S.

 --Dean Smith, head coach of University of North Carolina's basketball team for 36 years.

 --Patricia Wald, first woman appointed to U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia and became the court's chief judge.

 --C.T. Vivian, civil rights leader and minister.

--Former President Bill Clinton, 42 nd president of the United States and humanitarian through the Clinton Foundation, which promotes global public health, economic development and environmental protection.

--Oprah Winfrey, American broadcaster, actress and activist. The Oprah Winfrey Show was the highest rated talk show in America for 25 years. Her philanthropic efforts have been focused largely on education and creating opportunities for women and girls, in the U.S. and Africa.